Subscribe to our Newsletter

Symphonies No 1 & No 12

Catalogue Number: TROY032
Availability: Out Of Stock

Price: £10.00

The Albany Symphony Orchestra, conducted by George Lloyd

The audience at the Troy Music Hall was in for a treat the night of March 30, 1990: George Lloyd, was going to conduct both his earliest and latest Symphonies. The First was written in a burst of inspiration after he turned 19 and it was first performed in November of 1932, with a second performance a year later. Then the work was revised twice, and untouched until the 1980s, when Lloyd deemed it worthy of revival.  The Twelfth Symphony, commissioned for the Albany Symphony, would be his last work in the series. Like the Symphony in A, the work is in a single movement consisting of three continuous sections. 

This disc is *** recommended by the Penguin Guide to Compact Discs.

... Both are marvellous pieces and join the Fourth and Seventh Symphonies as the finest examples of Lloyd's work.  Chicago Daily Herald 
... The 12th Symphony is an inspired work, which will be widely played.  The Times Union, New York State
... As you get to know his output, you come to recognize his distinctive sound. Throughout the Twelfth Lloyd's passion for orchestral colour is intense. There is a glowing adagio that is one of Lloyd's finest and most noble symphonic utterances...  The Daily Gazette