Subscribe to our Newsletter

Piano Concerto No. 4 & Works for solo piano

Catalogue Number: AR004
Availability: In Stock

Price: £10.00

London Symphony Orchestra, Kathryn Stott (piano)
Piano Concerto No.4 (1970) is a highly tuneful work, written in a cheerful, slightly ironical mood, in contrast to the more sombre tones of the first three concertos. There are also solo piano works with descriptive titles: The Lily-Leaf and the Grasshopper and The Transformation of that Naked Ape.
This disc is *** recommended by the Penguin Guide to Compact Discs. 
....his fourth piano concerto is a gracious somewhat elusive three movement piece with a haunting slow movement, (and) a dashing finale... Classics Bristol Evening Post

...Lloyd has an ability matched by no one else writing music today to immediately and directly touch the heart, and this is an example of that ability at its finest... Henry Fogel, Fanfare is a sheer delight...much of the success of the disc goes to the soloist, Katherine Stott, who so perfectly captures the Lloyd idiom bringing panache and technical mastery to the finale...the London Symphony directed by Lloyd are on top form... Sheffield Star

...his 4th. Piano Concerto, a new release from Albany Records, has the conviction of a great Symphony...teeming with excitement and intense lyricism it will undoubtedly become a concert hall standard. Aberdeen Evening Express